Carbon180’s 2023 Member of the Year

Recognizing our CDR congressional champions

1 min readJan 22, 2024
Image: Mike Stoll

by Londyn Marshall, deputy director of government affairs

The Carbon180 Member of the Year award honors members of Congress who have demonstrated exemplary leadership in advancing the policies necessary to bring carbon removal to scale. This past year was a remarkable year for carbon removal, in part thanks to our 2023 awardees who have introduced legislation, such as the Advancing Research on Agricultural Climate Impacts Act, Coordination for Soil Carbon Research and Monitoring Act, and the Carbon Dioxide Removal Research and Development Act. These policies could build the research and science foundation necessary to put nascent technologies and approaches on the path to commercial readiness and build an equitable and durable carbon removal industry.

Congratulations to our 2023 Carbon180 Member of the Year awardees:

• Senator Brian Schatz (D-HI)

• Congressman Mike Lawler (R-NY)

• Congressman Eric Sorensen (D-IL)

In 2024, we look forward to working with our awardees and other members of Congress to ensure US federal policies support a high-accountability carbon removal field.

Edited by Ana Little-Saña

For more on our carbon removal work, subscribe to a Carbon180 newsletter or follow us on Twitter.




A new breed of climate NGO on a mission to reverse two centuries of carbon emissions. Newsletters 👉